ESCT is coming home: Aalborg to host 10th European Conference on Sustainable Cities and Towns
1 min read

ESCT is coming home: Aalborg to host 10th European Conference on Sustainable Cities and Towns

ICLEI Member Aalborg (Denmark) will host the 10th edition of the European Conference on Sustainable Cities and Towns (ESCT), which will take place in the first week of October 2024.

“We are proud to once more invite cities from across Europe to Aalborg to become part of a transformational movement”, says Thomas Kastrup-Larsen, Mayor of Aalborg, “The ESCT is a cornerstone of sustainable urban development in Europe and central to advancing the local sustainability agenda.”

For its 10th anniversary, the conference is returning to this Danish city for the third time. The first ESCT in 1994 launched the ground breaking Aalborg Charter, and the Aalborg Commitments followed in 2004, both of which have been recognised as local sustainability milestones.

For nearly thirty years, the ESCT has offered cities, regions and urban stakeholders a platform for inspiration, action, and to commit to take sustainability to the next level. The conference series calls for the acceleration of bottom-up action and change, to ultimately push and accelerate the ambition of global frameworks for sustainability and to address climate change.

The 2024 conference will once again demonstrate the urgent need for local governments to assume responsibility for urban transformation and lead the way in guiding Europe towards a secure and sustainable future. Join participants from local and regional governments, European and international institutions, multilateral organisations, the research community, businesses, and the civil society.

The 2024 edition will build on the legacy of previous conferences including, most recently, the 2020 conference that led to the Mannheim Message (Germany). Previous editions were hosted in the Basque Country (Spain), 2016; Geneva (Switzerland), 2013; Dunkirk (France), 2010; Seville (Spain), 2007; Hannover (Germany), 2000; and Lisbon (Portugal), 1996; and, of course, Aalborg (Denmark), 1994 and 2004.

Save the date, and stay tuned for additional announcements to come. More information can be found at:

Publish your Press Releases

Interested in our free daily E-news